Deputy Minister of Health Madina Rahman Gets WACN Award of Excellence

Freetown, Jul. 14, 2015 (MOHS) – The West African College of Nursing (WACN) will be honouring the Deputy Minister of Health and Sanitation ll Madam Madina Rahman with an Award of Excellence in Accra, Ghana.

DepDeputy Health and Sanitation Minister II, Madam Madina Rahman

The Award ceremony has been slated for Wednesday July 22, 2015 during the upcoming Biennial General Meeting to be held at the Secretariat of the West African College of Nursing in Accra, Ghana.

The 13th Biennial General Meeting, 22nd Scientific Session and 35th Council Meeting will commence from July 19-25, 2015 at the Pentecost Convention Centre, Gomoa Fetteh, Central Region Ghana in the outskirt of Accra on the Theme: “Profession versus professionalism: Opportunities and challenges”.

The sub themes include: The current trends in Nursing and Midwifery and implications for care, Ethical implications in the professional development of the Nurse and Midwife, Politics in Nursing and Midwifery education and practice, issues and implications, Research in Nursing and Midwifery practice for optimal professionalism, Theoretical and conceptual applications in Nursing and Midwifery. The Ebola Viral Disease: Experiential issues from Sierra Leone and Liberia.

The Honorary Award is in recognition of Madam Rahman’s exemplary professional role demonstrated in the Nursing profession in the discharge of her duties as Deputy Minister of Health and Sanitation within the health sector.

The Ministry of Health and Sanitation in line with its human resource responsibility in beefing up capacity building has offered support to seven (7) fellows of the College and Council members to attend the meeting.

Sierra Leone’s Team includes the Chief Nursing Officer Matron Hossinatu Kanu, Chairman West African College of Nursing Sierra Leone Chapter, Dr. Joan Shepherd among others. A T-Shirt specially designed for WACN and “Ashorbi” with the country’s National colour- Green, White and Blue is set aside for the Inauguration and Awards ceremony